Discover Fresh Destinations

The Incentive Connect International collection of exclusive experiences and destination specialists.

Melanesia is a subregion of Oceania extending from the western end of the Pacific Ocean to the Arafura Sea, and eastward to Fiji. The region comprises most of the islands immediately north and northeast of Australia.  From northwest to southeast, the islands form an arc that begins with New Guinea (the western half of which is called Papua and is part of Indonesia, and the eastern half of which comprises the independent country of Papua New Guinea) and continues through the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu (formerly New Hebrides), New Caledonia, Fiji, and numerous smaller islands.

Discover and explore the Melanesia region on a luxury expedition cruise. The Orion embarks on a 16 night expedition through islands untouched by tourism. As you thread your way from New Zealand to Papua New Guinea you will visit remote islands settled as early as 25,000 BC by skullworshipping tribes. Today they are some of the most dive-friendly islands in the South Pacific rich in fish and brightly-hued corals. Stroll pristine white sand beaches, soft underfoot, and climb the side of a still-active volcano for an unforgettable view. You will be introduced to friendly islanders and along the way you'll come face to face with relics from the Coral Sea battles of World War II.  Team building exercises include Zodiacs, sea kayaks, snorkelling for hidden treasure and orientation exercises ashore.

The following islands and groups of islands since the 19th century have been considered part of Melanesia:

Amplett Islands, Papua New Guinea
Bismarck Archipelago, Papua New Guinea
d'Entrecasteaux Islands, Papua New Guinea
Louisiade Archipelago, Papua New Guinea
Maluku Islands, Indonesia
New Caledonia
New Guinea, politically divided between independent Papua New Guinea and the Indonesian provinces of Papua and West Papua
Norfolk Island (geographically only)
Raja Ampat Islands, Indonesia
Schouten Islands, Indonesia
Santa Cruz Islands, Solomon Islands
Solomon Islands, politically divided between Papua New Guinea and independent Solomon Islands
Torres Strait Islands, politically divided between Australia and Papua New Guinea
Trobriand Islands, Papua New Guinea
Woodlark Island, Papua New Guinea

CLICK HERE to request a custom designed incentive travel itineray from a DMC in Melanesia.